Wednesday, January 2, 2008

Quadrantid Meteor Shower

According to NASA, scientists believe this could be the most brilliant meteor shower in 2008 with over 100 visible meteors per hour at its peak. Best viewing times with the highest meteor rates are expected to be in the early morning of Jan. 4 over the eastern United States. For the USA: 9pm – 5am (Eastern Time) on Jan. 3 and 4, 2008. For Northern Europe: 2am – 10am (London) on Jan. 4, 2008. For Northern Asia: 11am – 7pm (Tokyo) on Jan. 4, 2008. For almost of us, this means bundling up against the cold and battling the remnants of the waning Moon.

Will the Quadrantid Meteor Shower live up to its expectations? No one knows for sure… But we'll be watching!

FOOTNOTE: Would you like to swing on a star....carry moonbeams home in a jar ?

No comments: